“unexplained mysteries”

I’ve accepted that there are things in life I am never going to figure out.  No matter how much sleuthing I do, there are aspects of life that were not intended for me to understand.  “The secret things belong to the LORD our God, but the things revealed belong to us and to our children forever, that we may follow all the words of the Law” Deuteronomy 29:29.

That’s a tough pill for me to swallow.  I like knowledge and understanding.  “Figuring it” out is soul-satisfying. 

But what I hear this verse saying is that God is pleased with follow- through on the things that are known and understood.  Obedience.

I spend so much time wishing that the Scriptures were more clear about certain things.  Today I’ve been reminded by the gentle correction of the Spirit that I’ve let my focus drift too close to the shore.  There are a good many things that God has made painfully obvious about how I am to live.

How am I doing in those areas?  How about you?  

Uncertainty and doubt paralyze obedience.  A spoonful of faith and worship are the antidote.

Leave a Reply

