“a more excellent way”

We know that following Christ requires us to love.  It’s Christianity 101. “Love one another.”   I don’t think we need George Barna to tell us that 8 out of 10 professed believers can’t pass this course.  All I have to do is look in the mirror to know it’s true. 

Today, I’m going to personalize Jesus’ command and choose a more excellent way in my comings and my goings.

…I’m going to call the person who I’ve been ignoring.

…I’m going to pass along a kind word to the person who has had nothing but criticism for me.

…I’m going to serve the demanding one without grumbling.

…I won’t avoid those who I know are hurting even though I know that demonstrating concern will make my day longer.

…I will live today with the urgency of the gospel in my heart…what if today’s the last day I have to demonstrate to someone the love of Jesus is so powerful that it can soften a hard-nosed, self-absorbed person like me? 

Today, I choose a more excellent way.  Love.  Not in word, but in deed.  How about you?  What will you choose today?

Leave a Reply

