“who not what”

I love a good game plan.  Especially in a time of great need, a solution that holds possibility energizes me to action.

However, a bad strategy… Oh my!  Within seconds I find myself with a knot in my stomach the size of Kansas and a headache more persistent than a precocious five-year old.   It is insufferable to me, especially if I am asked to be a part of it.

I have to think  Moses shared this sentiment when God described His strategy for getting the Israelites out of Egypt (Exodus 4).  Having been raised an Egyptian, Moses received the plan with cynicism.  Signs or no signs, Moses most assuredly had seen spectacular signs in the House of Pharoah.   Moses knew that the Egyptians would require more than staff turned to a snake to convince them that he represented a God with whom to reckon.

I easily identify with Moses.  My first response to a call is to wallow in self-doubt (see yesterday’s post), only to overcome it and become overwhelmed by what other’s will think of my call. Will they believe it?  Will they listen to me?  Will I be ignored, discredited, or dismissed?  However, I am most significantly paralyzed by analyzing if something will work.  How many times I’ve concluded it won’t and declared, “Oh no, Lord, send someone else.”

God makes it clear to Moses he is to trust the Sovereign Planner, not the plan, not himself, not another’s response. “Who has made man’s mouth? Who makes him mute, or deaf, or seeing, or blind?  Is it not I, the LORD?” (Exodus 4:11) Simply trust God.   The life of faith is always settled in the “Who?” question, not the “What?” question.   

Many “What now?” questions riddle my life.  Today I will answer them with the”Who?” question.  How about you?

“He is the Rock, his works are perfect, and all his ways are just.  A faithful God who does no wrong.” Deuteronomy 32:4

Leave a Reply

