Living Hymns

It has occurred to me that part of the difficulty in the church today is that too many of us are singing hymns, but far too few of us are living our lives as one.

Hymns are songs or anthems of praise or adoration. (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/hymn) Is it possible that we’ve narrowed the context down too little, reserving hymns for old-fashioned church services?  What would happen in our homes and communities if we started practicing the virtues we’ve espoused  inside the church building?

I know this is not a new conversation…It’s one I’ve been having with myself for the last, oh say, 20 years of my life.  Most likely, you’ve been having it with yourself too. I just can’t seem to wrap my mind around the incongruent nature of our worship:  We praise God with words on Sunday morning, but curse the NFL ref by mid-afternoon.  We pray for the needs of the community, but walk callously by those we pass on our way home.  We say we want others to know of God’s greatness, but we live in such a way that conveys we’re not wholly convinced.

We need to be reminded that the Psalmist’s exhortation is for us today:

Shout joyfully to the LORD, all the earth.  Serve the LORD with gladness, come before Him joyful singing.  Know that the LORD Himself is God; It is He who has made us, and now we ourselves; We are His people and the sheep of His pasture.  Enter His gates with thanksgiving and His courts with praise.  Give thanks to Him, bless His name.  For the LORD is good; His lovingkindess is everlasting and His faithfulness to all generations”  Psalm 100.

What would change today if I lived as a hymn?

1. I will spend my time thinking about God.

2. My words will be shaped by God’s greatness.

3. My actions will be reflective of His goodness.

4. I won’t grumble and complain.

5. I won’t be judgmental of others.

6. I won’t be proud.

How about you? What will be the theme of your hymn?

Leave a Reply

