Embracing Your Inner Hero

Do any of us ever feel we can be the hero our own story requires us to be? 

Yesterday at the Community Enrichment for our Children’s Ministry, I taught on the need for us to be a protagonist, or hero, for the students in our classrooms.  This year our theme is “I Love to Tell the Story…”  Obviously, the story we CM workers love to tell is the story of Jesus.  But it’s told from an unique perspective–our personal perspective.  As we teach the Word, we communicate how Jesus intersects the stories we live.  We help our ‘readers’ get a view of the Author’s world by conecting them to the feelings, sights and sounds we experience as walk with Jesus.  We are grounded in who we are in Christ (Ephesians 1:3-14) and our lives paint a picture for our students of who they too can be in Him.  Our story inspires them to believe that Jesus can intersect their story–at home, at school, on the soccer field.  We let them see how big our shoes of faith are and invite them to take a little walk in them; knowing some day they will fill them with their own faith. 

As I was teaching, a random thought ran through my mind: “If I were reading my story would I identify myself as the protagonist?”   There are very few days that I see myself as a hero.  Even less so at this moment.  

 I still experience a lot of self-doubt about my contribution in life.  Heroes don’t, they offer their best even when it’s not invited…often they offer it because it’s needed, not welcomed. 

I get my feelings hurt easily.  That’s not supposed to happen to heroes.  They’re supposed to rise above their own sadness, insecurity, anger and frustration.  Like a magnet drawn to the north they hone in on the feelings of others and act for their interest.

I often get confused.  Heroes don’t.  They have laser focus on their vision of inspiration. 

I realize these statements relugate me to the category of ‘antagonist.’   Yet, maybe that’s the best description for me.  There’s too much truth in the saying, “You’re your own worst enemy” for me to think it wouldn’t apply to me. 

This week has some hard things for me to face.  I’m already looking for places to hide and feelings to deflect.  Being a coward really is the easy way out.  I want to be the hero in my story, but there’s a lot of risk and pressure in the trying.

Am I the only one who has to dare themselves to be a hero over and over again?  When your mind knows the truths your heart can’t quite believe, what do you do?  It’s not a rhetorical question:  Really?  What do YOU do?  How do you embrace your inner hero?

One thought on “Embracing Your Inner Hero

  1. Just saw your post this morning. Hope your visit is fruitful.

    Your definition of hero is flawed. There is no one alive today who is the hero you describe.

    We are faced with a lifelong process of sanctification.
    Take one of our favorite bible heros David as an example. He was a hero when he took on Goliath. However he was a non-hero during the many times he did not inquire of God and made terrible decisions throughout the course of his life. Yet he was a man after God’s own heart. Stories of heroes often only focus on a moment in time, not on a life.

    You are a hero even though you do not feel it all the time. Chuck is a hero, Stu is a hero, Joy is a hero. We are surrounded by heroes in the faith. Yet we all have those moments of doubt and failings.

    Lately I have been trying to say thank you God everytime I catch myself saying God help me. That has helped me have an instant attitude adjustment.

    As for your contibution in life, you can’t evaluate that. You are planting seeds that are harvesting in ways that you cannot know.

    Hope this helps. Gotta get back to work (God help me!)

    See you Monday.

Leave a Reply

