Thankfulness: Daily Grace

“Let them give thanks to the LORD for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for mankind” Psalm 107:31.

For food and drink and everything, we give you thanks, O Lord.

Have you stopped to consider the fortune of each day?  I believe that in our fast-paced, give-me-more culture we overlook so many of the “simple” graces given to us in every single day.

I will wake up tomorrow, as I did today, in a warm bed with a roof over my head.  Many in Haiti will not.  Thank you, Lord, for my home.

Today I will read.  It wasn’t until this last week that I became profoundly aware of the gift of my education and its enrichment in my life.  My heart hurts for those who cannot read and the shame and embarrassment that holds them in a prison of fear that others will find out.   Thank you, Lord, for allowing me to learn all I have–help me not to waste any of it today.

My children are downstairs messing up my kitchen, while elsewhere dear people I love are waking up to another morning of only the sound of silence and the grief of an empty womb.  Thank you, Lord for my children…and their messes.

My mom will go to a doctor and receive the best medical care in all the world.   Someone’s mother will suffer through illness with no access to medical care.  Thank you, Lord, for being the Great Physician!

If you want to see the bigness of God, look in the small places–there you will find His faithfulness and provision.  We have so much for which to be thankful!

What overlooked places in your life need to get dragged out for a celebration of thanks?

Leave a Reply

