Advent: Faithful in Our Waiting

I will give You thanks with all my heart; I will sing praises to You before the gods.

I will bow down toward Your holy temple and give thanks to Your name for Your lovingkindness and Your truth;

For You have magnified Your according to all Your name.

On the day I called, You answered me;

You made me bold with strength in my soul.

All the kings of the earth will give thanks to the Lord, when they have heard the words of Your mouth.

For great is the glory of the Lord, for though the Lord is exalted, yet He regards the lowly, but the haughty He knows from afar.

Though I walk in the midst of trouble, You will revive me; You will stretch forth Your hand against the wrath of my enemies, and Your right hand will save me.

The Lord will accomplish what concerns me; Your lovingkindness, O Lord, is everlasting; Do not forsake the works of Your hands.  ~Psalm 138

Waiting.  So many I spoke with yesterday are waiting for something seemingly impossible.  A new job, a restored marriage, a healed heart.  I, too, am waiting.  Waiting for God to do what I know only He can do.

I confess I get discouraged in the waiting.  Somehow God always seems so much more powerful if He acts immediately…but He rarely does.  He requires that we trust His power even when it is still.

If Advent teaches us anything, it is that in our waiting God remains faithful.  Faithful to us.  Faithful to His plans and purposes.  Faithful to working together His will and His way into a masterpiece of something beautiful, good, and true.

Are you waiting on God today?  Rest in His faithfulness.  He does not forsake us or His work.  Keep believing God for big, impossible things.  Let the story of Advent–its waiting and accomplishment–give you hope.

Leave a Reply

