Advent: The God Who Keeps His Word

Today was a frustrating day.

Something I had invested a lot of time and prayer into was blown out of the water.  The plans and the hopes I had for it crushed under the weight of disappointment.   How quickly dreams can slip away from us. 

It made me think of Mary.  Life was on a pretty good track until all was interrupted by the angel’s news. How quickly everything changed for her.  Instead of enjoying her preparations for marriage, she would harbor an unplanned child and the judgmental scorn of her people. 

Yet Scripture tells us that Mary surrendered herself to God’s interruption.  “I am the Lord’s slave,” said Mary.  “May it be done to me according to your word” (Luke 1:38).   Mary accepted that there would be more to the story than what would be visible to the eye.   

Advent reminds us to take God at His word.  When things don’t go as we planned.  When hope needs to pick itself up off the floor and begin again.  When frustration and disappointment mix up a nasty cocktail of “what could have been.”  Take God at His word:  “For nothing is impossible with God” (Luke 1:37). 

I’m needing my heart to cling to this truth.  Something tells me I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

