Was Jesus a Fundie?

This is a quick I-have-to-get-the-question-out-there moment.    I need your help…really, I want to hear your ideas. 

I’m reading Four Views on Salvation in a Pluralistic World.  Not because I really want to be reading it; I’m required to read it for class. 

I know reading this and wrestling with the issues is good for me…but it’s really discomforting.  Really. discomforting.

I keep asking myself questions like, “Am I fundie?”  “What would Jesus think of all these views if they had been postulated back in Palestine?”  “What kind of parable would He tell to knock sensibility back into the conversation?”  “Was Jesus a Fundie?”

Now mind you, I have a very Fundamental background, so I’m not afraid of the big, bad, scary Fundies.  I know they’re soft-hearted; but their compassions often get obscurred by their convictions in a Anabaptist similar way.  Yet, for the most part, their convictions are usually pretty right on, as far as representing what the Scriptures seem to be saying.  (Yes, I take exception to that generalization…but that’s another post, or at least it has been other posts.)

I suppose I’m displaying my naivette, but how would Jesus respond to the Normative Pluralist–the ones who believe that all ethical religions lead to God?  Or to the Inclusivist–salvation is universally available, but will lead to Christ?   How would Jesus draw them back to the essence of the cross?

I find myself drawing a hard line on this…read, a very judgmental line. (Which makes me fear I might be a Fundie!  Oh the Fundie confusion of it all!)  I believe in salvation in Christ alone.  Period.  It seems this is the line in the sand over which Jesus didn’t allow the toes to cross.  I hate it when people draw hard lines, but I think I would rather hate myself for joining them on this issue than be wrong about it.

Anyone out there wrestle with this issue?  Where do you land in the conversation and why?

4 thoughts on “Was Jesus a Fundie?

  1. Jesus probably would not say he is, or is not, a fundie. He would probably say I Am.

    I would say I am a fundie because I cannot say I Am, and have to choose what to believe. My choice is based on my background, education and experience. I have seen and heard.

    My hope is that I will spend eternity with a loving God, his son Jesus my savior, and my son Austin in whom I find no fault and great pleasure (at least right now at age 6). I would love to spend eternity with a great number of other people including Joy, my girls and our small group.

    When I consider the many faiths in the world, I expect God to judge all of us based on the standards we know to be true. I expect God will ask each of us how we did based on what we knew in our hearts to be right.

    No one will be found perfect. Austin will come close (when he gets enough sleep). Then what? On whom does God have mercy and grace? On whom should God have mercy and grace?

    I am a fundie because I believe the Bible answers these questions better than any religious text.

    The Bible says salvation is by grace alone so that no one may boast.

    My hope is that God’s grace will abound. My fear is that it will not.

    So better to draw a narrow line because if you are right you will have saved many, and if you are wrong it will not matter.

    • Great points! Yes, I join you in the desire that grace will abound and the fear it will not. I find myself believing this is one of those matters where you have to draw the line with strong conviction. I appreciate your thoughts…they are helpful!

  2. Even Jesus asked God if there could be some other way (“Let this cup pass from Me”). Obviously there was not, so Jesus was obedient even to death on a cross.

    I’ve heard a friend say, “I believe in Jesus. I just don’t believe Jesus is the only way to God.” If one is aware of what Jesus actually said, then those two statements contradict each other, in my view.

    I heard Greg Koukl explain it something like this: Can we agree that either Jesus IS or IS NOT the Messiah? He’s one OR the other – not both. Generally (and logically), one would agree. Greg goes on to point out that Christians believe Jesus IS the Messiah. Jews believe Jesus is NOT the Messiah. Greg’s point: They cannot BOTH be right.

    Having the right to believe something does not make that belief the truth.

    • Yes, very true. Sincerity of belief doesn’t validate truth. I don’t believe the Scriptures leave it open for there to be other ways to salvation. Granted I do believe Jesus can reach into any environment and draw people to Himself. So the answer is that there must be a line in the sand, which begs the next question: How do we create that line in such a way that it draws people in rather than keeps people out? Thanks for your thoughts and for speaking with such clarity. I appreciate your feedback!

Leave a Reply

