What To Do When You Don’t Know What to Do

It’s been quite a week/month/year.  Yes, the last year has been filled with many unexpected and challenging twists and turns.  Crisis seems to come in clusters…at least in my life that has been true.  They say crisis brings out the true you and maybe that’s what’s so scary about it.  In a crisis you realize how weak, incapable, and inferior you are to control your own life.

While I pride myself {dangerous phrase, I know} in always having a Plan B ready at hand, this last year has left me perplexed.  Many a moment has been filled with a shrug of the shoulder and the now all too familiar what-do-we-do-now look.   I believe I’ve uttered “I don’t know” more times in the last two weeks than I probably have in my whole life. 

I don’t like not having a plan.  I’ve never had a surprise party because my hubs knows I would equate this with novicaine-free dental work.  When we started dating twenty-one years ago my common phrase was “What’s the plan for the week?”  Not much has changed in the last two decades when it comes to my delight in having an orderly, predictable and productive life.

So here I am with everything out-of-order…no idea of the outcome on many things…and feeling as if my productivity would receive the same grade as the Seahawk’s first round draft pick.  {Really, that’s the best we can do, Seahawks?  Carpenter, who?}  (Their grade was an F if you’re wondering.)

What do we do when life gets spilled out like a purse violently thrown from its backseat resting spot?  I sat down last week to write out my plan for moving forward.  I titled it, “What To Do When You Don’t Know What to Do.”

…and I sat for a very long time writing absolutely nothing.  “Lord, I need your help.  I can’t figure this out.  It’s too hard.”  In the quiet recesses of my heart I heard the familiar voice, “Not if you do what I have already taught you.”

Then I remembered, and here is what I wrote:

“What To Do When You Don’t Know What to Do”

1. Remember your calling–you follow Christ; you don’t have to lead…just follow (I Peter 2:21)

2. Entrust yourself to God’s care (Ephesians 2:4-5, I Peter 2:24; 5:6-7)

3. Love God more than anything (Deuteronomy 6:5; Romans 12:1-2)

4. Love others (John 13:35)

5. Serve others (Galatians 5:13)

6. Consider others better than yourself (Philippians 2:3)

7. Be gentle, forgiving others (Galatians 6:1; Ephesians 4:2; Colossians 3:12)

8. Give thanks (I Thessalonians 5:18)

9. Pray without ceasing (Romans 12:12; Philippians 4:6-7; I Thessalonians 5:17)

10. Rejoice (II Corinthians 4:17; Philippians 4:4)

Yes, I do know these things.  I have been taught these lessons over and over.  Now it’s test time. 

But, I have a plan.  Things are so much better with a plan. 

“Know therefore that the LORD your God, He is God, the faithful God, who keeps His covenant and His lovingkindness to a thousandth generation with those who love Him and keep His commandments” Deuteronomy 7:9. 

2 thoughts on “What To Do When You Don’t Know What to Do

    • Megan, Stand firm, my friend. I’ve been giving thanks that the Lord has lulled me out of my false belief that I’ve been trusting Him…sometimes He snatches that plan right out of our hands so we know what real trust looks like. You’re right–it’s so OK for Him to have the plan!!! Saying a pray for you now.

Leave a Reply

