Grateful {Five Minute Friday}

Grateful.

For morning coffee delivered by strong arms and tender love.  Grateful for its warmth, its eye-opening aroma, its life-awakening superpowers.

For the man who has led and loved me for nearly twenty years.  Grateful for his promise-keeping, patience-wearing, wisdom-living ways.

For the little fingers and toes that are now safely grown.  Grateful for sicknesses healed, heartaches mended, the tough stuff of life that makes boys men.

For full days with those I love.  Grateful for the laugh lines and laundry-reminders of a well-lived life.  {Yes, I’m really grateful for the laundry!  Its stained knees and junk-filled pockets declare, “Wow this life is amazing!”}

For faithful, never-giving-up-on-you-or-walking-out-on-you friends.  Grateful for talks, walks, sharing of coffee pots.

For amazing love.  Grateful for Jesus, grace, new mercies.

So very grateful. 

Today this post was inspired by Gypsy Mama and her Five Minute Friday challenge.  Want to write along?  If you do, will you be sure to leave your link in my comments…I love reading what you have to say and I want to make sure I don’t miss it.  Don’t make excuses…just write.  I’d be mighty grateful if you did!  Here’s Gypsy Mama’s invite in her own words:

Want to take five minutes with me and just write without worrying if it’s just right or not. Here’s how we do it:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat with no editing, tweaking or self critiquing.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in {you can grab the button code in my right side bar}

3. Go and tell the person who linked up before you what their words meant to you. Every writer longs to feel heard.

OK, are you ready? Give me your best five minutes for the prompt:

2 thoughts on “Grateful {Five Minute Friday}

  1. “For the little fingers and toes that are now safely grown. Grateful for sicknesses healed, heartaches mended, the tough stuff of life that makes boys men.” I join you in thanking the Lord for bringing our children through the challenges of childhood into the world of the young adult. God has been faithful!

  2. Laundry. Actually, it’s one of my favorite things. Especially in the summer. I love to stand outside hanging clothes on the line. I love the opportunity to pray for each person as I hang their things, to think about where they are and where they’re going, to give praise for their strengths and ask for wisdom in their weaknesses. I love seeing Brent’s things hang next to Ryan’s or Logan’s–it reminds me that he’s no longer a little boy, that he’s truly an adult, and that I need to remember to treat him that way. There’s also the thanks for things: home (hanging sheets) food (hanging kitchen towels), and provisions (hanging cleaning rags). Nothing clears a blue funk faster for me than hanging laundry…guess it’s all in the focus! 🙂

Leave a Reply

