Rest: The Beautiful Silence {Five Minute Friday}

Today I’m joining Gypsy Mama for her Five Minute Friday writing prompt. Today’s Topic: Rest

In music, the rest deserves a gold frame.

At least that’s what I was taught through years of piano lessons. I always wanted to rush over the rest notes. I saw them as boring space in the composition. The rests felt like wasted time.

“No, no!” my teacher would insist, “The rest is the beautiful silence that accentuates the power of the next notes. Listen for its beauty. Put a gold frame on it to capture others with its beauty.”

Over the years I’ve enjoyed watching how musicians frame the rest. Some gently close their eyes. Others let their hands fly wistfully in the air, as if carried away by an angel. Still others take a deep breath in pregnant anticipation for what is to come.

Many an artist has drawn me into the beauty of the rest—drawn me into the part of the music you don’t hear with your ears, but your heart.

It’s true in life, as well. I’ve had to wrestle to find meaning in the rest. It feels like wasted time.  Why do I think it’s more valuable when life is playing forte and staccato? Why do I find it so hard to listen for the beauty in its quiet?  Why do I forget that its silence will only accentuate the power of what comes next?

Rest, in all its forms, deserves a gold frame.  

“He leads me beside quiet waters. He restores my soul” ~Psalm 23:2b, 3a

What will you do this weekend to frame the beauty of resting?

Gypsy Mama’s Five Minute Friday is a chance to “write without worrying if it’s right.” Want to give it a try? Hop on over to her site. You can add your own contribution or see what others are saying about rest.

12 thoughts on “Rest: The Beautiful Silence {Five Minute Friday}

  1. wow. wow. wow. SO GOOD. Girl, this is a message…you should preach this! oh, wait…you just did. So much wisdom in the “rest” in music. WOW. never thought about it. This weekend I will ENJOY. Enjoy moments. How fitting since it’s LABOR day weekend. Truly we should all rest. thank you for this awesome blog!

    • Ah, thank you! Do enjoy your weekend. Isn’t it great that we have an extra day to capture beautiful moments? Thanks for visiting.

  2. This is a great post. It’s my first time here and I’m just smiling because I so agree with you. I think about the rest when someone is giving a speech — how they pause to make the effect more powerful, how they give you time to let something very poignant really sink in. It is the same idea, one very worthy to be thinking about in the context of daily life.

    • Jen, Glad you’re here. Thanks for visiting! The power of pause in a speech is another great analogy. Nothing worse than listening to someone rushing through a speech. I like your idea of rest being the time for the important stuff to sink in. Great contribution. Thank you so much.

    • Lori, thank you. Good point how God surrounds us with examples of rest and yet…there we go a’hurrying. Hopefully today’s posts on rest will help me be more attentive. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Oh, I’m so glad I came over from Gypsy Mama’s! As a sister musician, your post holds much meaning for me. How wonderful to have such a wise piano teacher who taught you life by teaching you music. God bless you today.

    • Thankful you found your way here! I’m glad the post was meaningful to you. Hope you find the rest you need today. May you, as well, be blessed.

  4. Oooh what a creative perspective on rest! Love it. I enjoy art and creative expression deeply, I’m thankful for the restoration found there. I don’t think I’ll ever look at a rest musically the same way! Thanks for visiting my place today, I’ll be back again!

    • You’re so right–there is much restoration in art, in all its forms. Thanks for the visit and the comment. Rest beautifully!

  5. “The rest is the beautiful silence that accentuates the power of the next notes. Listen for its beauty. Put a gold frame on it to capture others with its beauty.”
    WOW! Like you, I have often felt as though the time I spend resting is a waste of time. (Probably because while I am supposedly resting, my mind is spinning with all that I could or SHOULD be doing!) But now….thanks to your beautifully written post, I see rest in a new, life-changing way~.
    Thank you from the bottom of my heart-
    ~Stacy

    • You are welcome! I am glad you you’ve been blessed. It’s true how easy it is to let “coulds and shoulds” enter our silence. I do it all the time! Here’s to the both of us as learn to capture rest’s beauty! Thanks for coming by.

Leave a Reply

