In Real Life… {Five Minute Friday}

Most days it feels like I live between two realities. There is the life I wholly want to be living. And there is the real life

In which I yell at my kids, honk at less perfect drivers than me, laugh at another’s expense. I spend too much time on Twitter. I eat food I shouldn’t. I speak too much, usually about things I know nothing about. I listen too little. I forget important requests made by my husband. I choose stubbornness, for stubbornness sake.

In real life, I shake my fist at injustice while driving right past the one I could do something about. I’m mercy-deficit.

For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh; for the willing is present in me, but the doing of the good is not. For the good that I want, I do not do, but I practice the very evil that I do not want. But if I am doing the very thing I do not want, I am no longer the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me.” ~Romans 7:18-20

In real life, I am not half the person I want to be. Nothing ‘wow’ or ‘super’ to be seen here. Just average. Stuck in the middle of being me. In real life, I’m messy.

I don’t have a Photoshop expert following me around, tidying up all the real. I wish I knew a way to cover it up, shine over it, or dress it up, but I don’t.  If you see me, you will see the bumps and blemishes. It’s just the authentic truth.

There’s been a lot of talk about “authenticity” these last few years. We’re all looking for the ‘real deal.’ Funny how the place we’re least to accept it is when we find it in the mirror. If we can’t accept the authentic about ourselves, how will we receive it when others offer us their authenticity. It seems that too often we treat authenticity a lot like our housekeeper {hypothetically speaking, since I don’t actually have one}. How many women confess to tidying up their house so the housekeeper won’t see how dirty it is? Authenticity means letting someone see the dirt. In real life, there is a lot of dirt.

The real life, the authentic life, is found in acceptance, with forgiveness. It doesn’t need perfect. It doesn’t require “do better,” “do more,” or “let me be best.” It doesn’t need Photoshop, it has grace. Grace for the bumps and bruises, the ones in you and me.

In real life, I need grace. I’ll assume you will too. 

“But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us”

~Romans 8:37

Does the real life have you discouraged? Need a different perspective? Romans 5-8 offers a refreshing word for authentic-weary souls.

Five Minute Friday posts are linked to Gypsy Mama’s site. She gives the prompt, we just write for five minutes “without worrying if it’s right.” There are more “real life” reflections to be enjoyed there. 

9 thoughts on “In Real Life… {Five Minute Friday}

  1. I think everyone struggles with how they would live their Pleasantville life…and how they live their In Real Life life.
    I don’t think I do an awesome job each day.. but I like to look at the overall…and in that..I “think” I do a pretty good job. If only we were just friendlier to ourselves.
    T

  2. “Authenticity means letting someone see the dirt.” I like that! I, too, wish I had someone following me tidying up the picture. But, it is what it is…and thank God for His grace…and the beauty that we really are all in it together. Blessings!

  3. No better way to live than recognizing “I need grace, I’ll assume you will too!” So many great posts on in real life today, I think a nerve has been struck! Thanks for stopping by to visit me earlier!

    • Funny. Yes, just five minutes of writing (and went back to add in the Scripture references)…doesn’t take much time for the fingers to fly when your heart’s been doing a lot of thinking on the topic. (I’ve been ready very s-l-o-w-l-y Scott Hoezee’s book The Riddle of Grace and it’s prompted a lot of thinking on my part about how hard I find it to let God’s grace seep into the real places in my life…something God’s been prompting long before the writing prompt today…I guess that’s not really fair play, is it?) Thanks for stopping by. Blessings back to you!

Leave a Reply

