A Long Way Off {When You’re not Yet Where You Want to Be}

A long way off…

So much in life is qualified by these words. I’m a hundred miles from the weight I want to be. There are relationships that are distanced by a thousand miles of differences. My achievement as a wise, mature woman of God is a million miles away from the daily silliness in which I live. I’m a long way off from where I want to be.

In church on Sunday, we were led in a meditative reading of the Parable of The Prodigal Son from Luke 15. On the third reading of verse 20, I heard it, “So he got up and came to his father. But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and had compassion for him and ran and embraced him and kissed him.”

‘A long way off’ are words that frustrate me. They feed my voracious appetite for self-sufficiency. “If I’m such a long way off, I better hurry up and get on with my journey. I’m falling behind. I’m going too slowly. I need to walk faster. Try harder. I need to labor more to get to the place of the Father’s love.”

The truth of this text is that God isn’t threatened by how long off I am. He sees me. He has compassion on me. He says, “It’s okay. I’ll come to you. My love will run to you and embrace you.”

Do you feel “a long way off” too? Do you have a loved one who is a long way off? It is okay. No matter the distance, His love will come to you…to them. May this comfort our hearts and inspire our image-bearing today.

Leave a Reply

