Relevant {Five Minute Friday}

It’s Gypsy Mama’s Five Minute Friday. Hip, hip, hooray! It’s about writing…minus the editing. Oh how I love this! Today’s writing prompt is ‘Relevant…

Go.

I cut my finger this week.

I mean I really cut it bad. Chopped it up nice and ugly. Just in time for Halloween. All I need to do is drape the rest of me into the shadows and parade my finger around. It will give everyone quite a fright.

It was just like in the movies. I was whistling my morning tune, which sounds more like grunting, while making my son’s sandwich for lunch. {Cue ominous bass notes.} Sliced right through the pad of “Mr. Tall Man” with the new, #*%&! knife I bought out of sympathy for the salesman. No good deed goes unpunished.

I had no idea what a wonderful working arrangement I had with this long finger. Day in and day out, he was a pretty inconsequential fellow. But now that he has had to hang a blue tag from his rear view mirror, I miss him terribly. I’m struggling to be me without him. Nothing is quite the same and I wish he didn’t have to be hurt before I took him notice.

Rel-e-vant, adjective, Having a bearing on or connection to the matter at hand. (That’s punny, huh?)

We’re apt to miss the importance of something until it is found wounded or lost. Then, and only then, do we see how relevant that piece was to our wholeness. The wise among us take note of the small things in life and welcome their influence.

Stop.

When was the last time you realized how treasured something was only after you lost it?

4 thoughts on “Relevant {Five Minute Friday}

    • Mike, so agree! Unfortunately I find myself being unintentionally stingy with appreciation. Something I have to work on. Good addition! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

