Oh So Far from Commonplace {Advent & Five Minute Friday}

It’s time for Gypsy Mama’s Five Minute Friday link up. Today’s word is–COLOR. Here I go, five minutes of just writing…not worrying about if it’s perfectly right.

No matter what the song says about a brown-eyed girl, I have never enjoyed being one.

Brown. It’s so boring. Drab. Ordinary.

I always wanted the cornflower-blue eyes of my childhood friend. Her eyes twinkled and sparkled like water flowing from a vibrant fall. Her bright winks woke up the sun.

My dull eyes provoked yawns.  If only I’d been given eyes a color from the rainbow. If the eyes are a window to the soul, then I was living a lackluster, earth-toned, commonplace existence.

But then there’s the story of this baby born in a manger. He’s enclosed by the granite gray of a cold cave. Cradled by raw umber brown construction. Surrounded by nothing but the tumbleweed hues of humanity, hay, animal poop, and years old dust. A most earth-toned birth, yet oh so far from commonplace.

It’s just like God to make the ordinary blind us with His glory. To send drably-dressed shepherds over purple mountain’s majesty in order to behold the pearlescent treasure of His Son, wrapped in sparkling-white swaddling, foreshadowing the power of His flowing crimson-red blood that would cleanse all mankind of their coal-black sins. It’s just like God to color outside the lines and place a regal King in a commonplace stable. It’s just like God to incarnate the ordinary with heavenly promise.

Today as we continue to wait for the Has Come and Coming Again King, may you see His glory in your ordinary, earth-toned places, for they are the places God most likes to visit with a brush of beautiful color. It might seem ordinary to you now, but extraordinary awaits!

“And the one seated there looks like jasper and carnelian, and around the throne is a rainbow that looks like an emerald…To the one seated on the throne and to the Lamb be blessing and honor and glory and might forever and ever!” Revelation 4:3, 5:13.

8 thoughts on “Oh So Far from Commonplace {Advent & Five Minute Friday}

  1. Brenda, I so relate to the brown eye thing! I have brown eyes. When I was little girl my mom made me a “cabbage patch” doll, and she wanted to make it to look like me. I made her make it with blonde hair and blue eyes. Now I wish it looked like me! You write so much truth, though, that “it’s just like God to color outside the lines”. I loved your post! Thank you!!

    • Thank you for your kind words. Funny how when we’re young we don’t appreciate God’s handiwork in us like we do when we’re older. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only brown-eyed girl who wanted to be the blue-eyed blond.

  2. Ah, I’m another brown-eyed girl! Not the gorgeous dark brown that my sister had, or the stunning green eyes of my childhood best friend. And travel forward through time, I have one daughter with brown like mine (but who inherited her father’s luscious lashes), one daughter with vibrant blue, and one daughter with hazel eyes that immediately change color to match her outfits! So…You could say that from my “ordinary” eyes added to my husband’s, I’ve inherited a household of gorgeous diversity! Loved reading your post. Visiting from The Gypsy Mama!

    • Carrie, the diversity in your family does sound gorgeous! God knows what He’s doing, huh? So glad you found your way here from Gypsy Mama. I love meeting knew friends from her community. Thanks for leaving a comment.

  3. Until today’s writing prompt I don’t think I’d considered the incredible value of color and what it communicates! Powerful. I’m amazed at the different places people took color and your post is especially beautiful and thought provoking!

  4. I love this, God pouring His glory into our earth tones. And that reference from Revelation – it is exciting to see that heaven is full of vibrant colour. You have encouraged me and given food for thought, thank you.

Leave a Reply

