L’Engle on Obedience {Quotable}

For Christmas my niece gave me Madeleine L’Engle’s Walking on Water (Northpoint Press, 1980). This book is L’Engle’s reflection on faith and art. What does it mean to be a “Christian creative”? I’m finding it hard to put the book down. Here is one, of what I believe will become many quotable excerpts for reflection.

Obedience is an unpopular word nowadays, but the artist must be obedient to the work, whether it be a symphony, a painting, or a story for a small child. I believe that each work of art, whether it is a work of great genius, or something very small, comes to the artist and says, “Here I am. Enflesh me. Give birth to me.” And the artist either says, “My soul doth magnify the Lord,” and willingly becomes the bearer of the work, or refuses; but the obedient response is not necessarily a conscious one, and not everyone has the humble, courageous obedience of Mary.

How often do you think about your creative expressions in terms of obedience?

Leave a Reply

