Are You Disappointed? {Watchman Nee Quotable}

Disappointment–it is seemingly everywhere. It moves in and out of our lives as a reminder that we’re fallen people living with other fallen people in a fallen world. Yet our hearts long for the ideals; the perfect little life lived to the rhythm of happily ever after.  Disappointment–we can’t escape it; it must be faced. But how?

Suppose we are on a steamer which has a huge anchor. What is the use of the anchor if it stays on the steamer? It is to be cast into the water so as to stabilize the vessel. It is not to stay put on the steamer. Likewise is it with faith. Faith never believes in what is in us; faith casts itself upon the Lord Jesus. It is cast from us to Christ. Let me tell you, should the steamer be loaded with even larger anchors, it will not be steadied unless those anchors are thrown into the water. The more we look at ourselves, the more disappointed we become. But if we cast the anchor of faith onto the cross of the Lord Jesus we shall have peace. ~Watchman Nee

What does this mean to you?

I know in my own life that when I am disappointed I will often turn in on myself, obsessed with my pain, other’s offense, my failure, other’s insensitivity. Back and forth my thinking takes me deeper down into me.

Faith is what pushes us back from the dangerous rocks of self-focus. Our hope is in Christ and it is on Him that we anchor our thoughts. He who knows the disappointment of the cross can most adequately help us in our sadness. He who knows the cross also knows its power; knows there is joy after sorrow, life after death. There is resurrection. God is bigger than our disappointment!

“This hope we have as an anchor of the soul, a hope both sure and steadfast and one which enters with the veil, where Jesus has entered as a forerunner for us, having become a high priest forever according to the order of Melchizedek” ~Hebrews 6:19-20.

How have you learned to “cast your anchor of faith onto the cross”? Maybe you are in need of hope today? The comment box below can be used to share both ways you’ve learned to look to Christ in times of disappointment, as well as for sharing how you need hope. Let’s encourage one another.

One thought on “Are You Disappointed? {Watchman Nee Quotable}

  1. A few years ago, I came to realize that one of the significant relationships in my life had disintegrated into a tangled mess. As I sat there trying to pick through it, like a bundle of Christmas lights, not even sure where the beginning and end of the strands were, the Lord spoke to me gently and told me to dump the whole mess into his lap, and then to walk away from it and let Him untangle it. He directed my focus elsewhere, told me to put my energies into other things. Not that I left the relationship — I just stopped picking at it. Every time I was tempted to grab it back, I remembered that I had given it to Him, and even though that felt like I was in danger of losing it, I trusted that He would be faithful. That anchor stayed with me through the next few years, and even when I drifted near the edge, I never strayed completely away, because I had that anchor of Christ holding me steady. And faithful He has been, untangling what I couldn’t even understand and strengthening ties I thought were frayed and useless. Without the anchor of Christ? I wouldn’t be here talking about it today, I can tell you that much!

Leave a Reply

