10 Books that Influence My Parenting {10 Books a Day for a Week}

Parenting has been an incredibly wild journey filled with all kinds of unexpected surprises, some lovely…some not so much. With our boys now 19 and 17, I am thankful for the influence the following books have had in our family. On different levels and in a variety ways, each of them has served as a survival guide. Without them, well…that would have been scary scarier.
Here they are with links to Amazon.
  1. Give Them Grace, by Elyse Fitzgerald
  2. How to Talk so Kids Will Listen and Listen so Kids Will Talk, by Adele Faber and Elaine Mazlish
  3. Boundaries with Kids, by Cloud and Townsend
  4. The Way they Learn, by Cynthia Tobias
  5. Shepherding a Child’s Heart, by Tedd Tripp
  6. You Can’t Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded), by Cynthia Tobias
  7. Raising Kids for True Greatness, by Tim Kimmel
  8. Sacred Parenting: How Raising Children Shapes Our Souls, by Gary Thomas
  9. Age of Opportunity: A Biblical Guide to Parenting Teens, by Paul David Tripp
  10. The Whole Brain Child: 12 Revolutionary Strategies to Nurture Your Child’s Developing Mind, Solve Everyday Parenting Problems and Help Your Family Thrive, by David Siegel

This list is incomplete without mentioning the Bible. It is the best parenting book. No, it doesn’t give three steps for what to do when your child is having a temper tantrum in Target. However, when I am in the Word and the Word is in me, I am a better parent. The Spirit has used the Word on so many occasions to give me wisdom, perspective {notice all those dysfunctional families in there?}, and comfort. When I parent according to the confidence of God’s work as promised by His Word, my children have a happier mom who doesn’t haven’t to control every aspect of their lives…instead she is surrendered to God’s work in God’s time in God’s way. Phew. Such a relief to know my children’s futures are in God’s hands…it’s not all up to me.

How about you? What book do you think is the “must have” on every parent’s shelf? 

Once again I’m linking up with Sarah for her 10 Books a Day for a Week blog series. See you again on Wednesday for 10 Books for Tinies. {I.can.not.wait. I love children’s books, so this is going to be fun digging out my favorite.}

One thought on “10 Books that Influence My Parenting {10 Books a Day for a Week}

  1. “When I parent according to the confidence of God’s work as promised by His Word, my children have a happier mom who doesn’t haven’t to control every aspect of their lives…” So true!! And it’s such a relief to realize that I don’t have to be God to them!

Leave a Reply

