10 Fiction Books I Read Over and Over {10 Books a Day for a Week}

Today we’re sharing fiction books that are so good you can’t help but find yourself drawn back to their pages over and over again.

You know those books you keep going back to; the ones whose words run along familiar grooves in your heart. We all have them. I do. I confess I’m almost a little embarrassed to share mine. Some, well they feel juvenile. Others escape explanation as to why I return to them as I do. Yet, isn’t that the point of good fiction? Isn’t it supposed to get you caught up into a story that isn’t yours and you can’t explain adequately enough why in some strange way it feels like it could be? Even if just for a day?

Here are the 10 fiction books that I read over and over and over…sometimes just a page at a time, and other times I can’t put them down as if I’ve never read them before. {Links to Amazon are provided.}

  1. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy…yes, it’s tragic but it is a great novel…every time I read it.
  2. The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostovsky…it is honest and spiritual.
  3. Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling…Kipling. Such a great story teller.
  4. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen…I love stories of strong, virtuous and brave women.
  5. Cold Sassy Tree by Olive Ann Burns…enchanting characters.
  6. Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne…the Hundred Acre Wood is filled with all kinds of wisdom for young and old alike, but beware of Heffalumps.
  7. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien…who can’t help but get lost again and again in the adventurous life of Bilbo Baggins?
  8. Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis…so many lessons have been learned in Narnia.
  9. The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor…redemption and grace laced in raw and honest stories.
  10. The Moviegoer by Percy Walker…gripping and always thought-provoking.

Bonus: The Accidental Tourist by Anne Tyler…it had to mentioned. Too brilliant, funny, and poignant to leave off the list.

For me, these books are all about the characters. They have become friends, mentors, and examples. I know some people need well-developed settings or tricky word smithing. Not me. Give me a complex, quirky, lovable, or an angst-filled character and I will love them for life.

What is your favorite fiction book? What most makes you connect to it? 

I’m linking up this week with Sarah. Maybe tomorrow I’ll join her and post my favorite memoirs.

2 thoughts on “10 Fiction Books I Read Over and Over {10 Books a Day for a Week}

Leave a Reply

