In Celebration of No Filter Friday

I know of the Tooth Fairy and the Coffee Fairy, but who is this fairy that transfers dirty, food-crusted dishes from the sink to the dishwasher? It appears my children believe she exists. I wish she did.

Speaking of children. At what age do they cease to drive you to the cliffs of insanity?

Text from husband last night: Stuck in Occupy protest in downtown L.A.  I immediately turned on the news because I thought he might go all Batman crazy. I wouldn’t want to miss my man doing THAT. He arrived home an hour later without incident. Dang it.

Pass on the movie Hope Springs, unless you enjoy painfully awkward moments that last for 2 hours and 1 minute. I love, love, love Meryl Streep, but the older couple walking out in front of me said it best, “Well, that sure is a different role for her than when she played Margaret Thatcher.”

This week I’ve heard a lot of “building a platform” talk. My hunch is we need to be careful with that because it’s really just another way of saying, “How can I use people for my good?” Shouldn’t we be asking, “How can I use my good for people?” It’s such a subtle, yet dangerous distinction.

I’ve been quoting Kent Keith’s Paradoxical Commandments much this week. I think it’s time for a little review:

1. People are illogical, unreasonable, and self-centered. Love them anyway.
2. If you do good, people will accuse you of selfish ulterior motives. Do good anyway.
3. If you are successful, you will win false friends and true enemies. Succeed anyway.
4. The good you do today will be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway.
5. Honesty and frankness make you vulnerable. Be honest and frank anyway.
6. The biggest men and women with the biggest ideas can be shot down by the smallest men and women with the smallest minds. Think big anyway.
7. People favor underdogs but follow only top dogs. Fight for a few underdogs anyway.
8. What you spend years building may be destroyed overnight. Build anyway.
9. People really need help but may attack you if you do help them. Help people anyway.
10. Give the world the best you have and you’ll get kicked in the teeth. Give the world the best you have anyway.

Do you find it amazing that Keith wrote these before he had children? {Summer, are you almost over?  You are a cruel, cruel parent-toturer!}

So far in August I haven’t bought any shoes. Nor did I buy.one.single.thing at the Nordstroms Anniversary Sale. And nobody has told me ‘good job.’ I need a little affirmation, people! And maybe some alternative coping skills. Any suggestions?

What’s for dinner? Seriously? I have no clue. Sometimes when I ask myself that question it feels like I’ve been asked to explain something scientifically complicated like how do June bugs know it’s June?

Have a great weekend. Have fun. Be safe. Think well of others. Do good. Speak plainly. Love freely. Man, I’m starting to sound like a hippy.

Anything on your mind that you’d like to add to the No Filter celebration? Leave a comment or link up! 

6 thoughts on “In Celebration of No Filter Friday

  1. I’m proud of you for not buying any shoes. It’s already 10 days in. That’s pretty amazing. Good job. Agreed with the dinner question. When the heck do these people learn how to wipe their own butts and feed themselves dinner anyway? And since we’re on the subject, why do they need to poop when I’m the most busy? Like when I’m cooking dinner? Why do they ask me to wipe their butt after they’ve asked me to cook them dinner. Don’t they realize how gross that is? I’m considering going on strike, from both jobs. Insanity work conditions.

    • Good news for you! My boys are both approaching their twenties and no longer cry from the bathroom “I’m done!” Prepare yourself for the day when you look at your husband and say, “Remember the simple days…” and you will recount all the butt wiping days with an odd, maybe disturbing, sense of nostalgia. I don’t know how old they were when they stopped asking for assistance, but I can tell you from the skid marks in the undies about what year they became wipe efficient. Yes, there was a gap between those two benchmarks…

      • Eww. Poopy panties or bm on the bum. Both are shitty huh? I’ll take your word on the nostagic butt wiping moments and the screaming of ‘I’m done!’ I really just want to yell back ‘so am I!’.

  2. Pingback: No Filter Friday « Julia's Inner Monologue

Leave a Reply

