Free to Need {#31 Days}

Self-sufficiency is such a callous maker. It thickens the walls of the hearts with its “I don’t need anything or anyone.” It’s abrasive and stubborn. Deceptive strength at its best. It holds us captive to the vulnerability necessary to receive. Need is a gentle, fragile place.

It’s exactly the place where Jesus likes to show up, as I see it in John’s Gospel. People who are powerless, hungry, wounded, confused, lost–anyone who is in need–discover Jesus. Not outside of their need, but right smack in the middle of it.

Oh, the Liberty to know that Jesus welcomes our need. No need too big…or too small. None too hard…or too soft. All are just right in the presence of Jesus.

The song Oh How I Need You” by All Sons and Daughters is a beautiful song of freedom. Will you sing it today?

Lord I find You in the seeking
Lord I find You in the doubt
And to know You is to love You
And to know so little else
I need You
Oh how I need You (3)

Lord I find You in the seeking
Lord I find You in the doubt
And to know You is to love you
And to know so little else
I need You
Oh how I need You (x3)

Lord I find You in the morning
Lord I seek You everyday
Let my life be for Your glory
Woven in your threads of grace
I need You
Oh how I need You (x3)

Light glorious light
I will go where You shine
Break the dawn , crack the skies
Make the wave right before me
In Your light I will find
All I need, all I need is You

Light glorious light
I will go where You shine
Break the dawn , crack the skies
Make the wave right before me
In Your light I will find
All I need, all I need is You

Oh how I need You (x8)

With Jesus, we are free to need. I need him. You need him…and that’s okay. Without him, we’re all just a mess of a captive trying to get by on our own {very inadequate} sufficiency.

You are free to need. Be free indeed! {And…go to iTunes now and buy this song…your heart needs it.}

This month I’m participating with The Nester in her 31 Day challenge to write every day on a topic of choice. I’m writing this month on how Jesus make us free. Because without him, we’re just a hot mess of a captive. 

Leave a Reply

