Safe and Sound and Free {#31 Days of Freedom}

“I am the gate. Whoever enters by me will be saved, and will come in and go out and find pasture. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.” ~John 10.9-10

As I listen to the crescendo of reports warning of Hurricane Sandy’s potential destruction, I’m aware of how much fear pervades our every day life. We bolster our lives against the threats of weather, crime, and pain. There are constant lifestyle improvements promising us safer cars, healthier foods, and more fortified homes. We are always taking steps to calm and quiet constant threats of physical and emotional harm.

Just yesterday I sat on a plane for three hours discussing life with a young man of the Mormon faith. He made an interesting comment as we bantered politics, “The reason Romney is running for president is because he’s afraid for our country?”

Afraid of what exactly? Well in short, I heard about the fear of our economic debt, our vulnerability to China, extremist Moslems, and compromised national security.

This conversation has weighed on me because I have many thoughts about the political situation at hand, but fear would not categorize them. Should I be afraid? Am I missing something important that my young friend has been more astute to capture? I’d hate to think that I’m whistling away walking headlong into disaster.

I have had times when fear has been a common friend, like a shadow from which I can’t escape. I still sometimes find myself afraid for no good reason of being alone in the dark. Yes, I confess that sometimes I do the terror sprint from my car to the front door. I’m terrified by rats, mice, and any of their cousins. Sometimes random thoughts forebode of tragedy that cause my heart to shutter.

Things of which I have been afraid have never represented freedom for me. Fear and freedom don’t make house together.

When Jesus says that he is the gate, I hear him extending a welcome to a safe haven, to a place where a sign hangs above the door declaring, “No Fear Allowed.” Jesus is there at the door keeping the thieve of peace from crossing the mantel. All on the inside can rest with the confidence that their Strongman is at the door. No true harm will be allowed entrance.

Tonight I sit here with my heart at home, sweetly sitting at home. I might not afraid of Sandy and her Frankenstorm predictions. I’m not afraid of the outcome of the election. I’m not afraid for our country, or my family, or my friends. Yes, there are difficulties that must be faced, but Jesus has promised that abundant life is found through him. I hear him at the door, he is keeping trouble out and peace in.

I am safe and sound in this home of freedom. Yes, here with Jesus, we are free from fear.

Free indeed!

This month I’m participating with The Nester in her 31 Days challenge to write every day on a topic of choice. I’m writing this month on how Jesus make us free.

Leave a Reply

