On Pleasure and Leanness of Soul {Amy Carmichael Quotable}

The eternal in anything is the unseen, the spiritual. A trial comes. It will pass. In a few days, or months we shall have forgotten it. The way we met that trial–our inner attitude towards it–belongs to the things that are eternal. It will matter ten thousand years hence whether we conquered or were conquered by that temptation to impatience or faithlessness or worry which came when the trial rushed upon us.

It does not seem so now. We feel, “If only I could have that–that joy on which my heart is set–then I should be happy.” But those words remind us of something we know is true, and yet often forget. The pleasures will pass. There is nothing abiding in pleasure. If we say, “I must have it; I shall not be happy if I cannot have it, Then even if we did have it, there would be no lasting gain, only dreadful loss, eternal loss.

There is a verse about this in the Bible: “He gave them their request; but sent leanness into their soul” (Psalm 106.15). Let us ask that this word may never true of us.

~Amy Carmichael (Thou Givest…They Gather)

3 thoughts on “On Pleasure and Leanness of Soul {Amy Carmichael Quotable}

  1. I saw that you posted some work by Amy Carmichael. She’s fantastic and I actually work for the publishing company that produces a lot of her books! I was wondering if you would be interested in doing a review on a new one we have out, called Plowed Under.
    Email me if you are interested!
    Thank you for your consideration,
    Geli Ziegler

    • Geli,
      Amy Carmichael’s writings have been very influential in my life and I would love to review Plowed Under. Thank you for the opportunity. I don’t see an email to contact you. Please let me know the best way to pursue such a great opportunity to spread the word about Amy’s life and writing.
      Brenda

Leave a Reply

