Abiding {Remaining Where Christ is Already At}

If you are just joining the “Abiding” series you can find the first post here, the second post here and the third post here

“Abide in me as I abide in you.”

Abide. Meno. To remain. Stay put. Don’t go anywhere. Continue. Hold on. Wait it out.

Abide. It is in contrast to fleeing. To abandoning. To cutting ties. To walking away from projects half-finished.

In salvation, Christ puts us in the Vine–He joins us to Himself. In the daily celebration of our salvation we stay right there…we let our salvation grow its proper fruit.

Sounds simple enough, right? That is until you realize how hard it is to sit still for any amount of time. Staying put requires muscles we moderns have ceased to exercise.

It’s a concept lost on us, this whole idea of establishing roots and of being connected. We frown upon the neglect of freedom {doing whatever I want} and independence {with whomever I want}.  We are the people who are going places…seeing things…taking names and getting things done. I can flee to a thousand places in an hour, thanks to the World Wide Web.

Into this transitory din, Jesus commands, “Abide! Stay right here. With me. In me. Where my work is sufficient. Where my life consumes your life with the wonder of the Father’s love.”

But when things get hard–conversations grow awkward, the heart gets sad, change is needed…I feel like I need more than what I can get in the staying put. I don’t want to remain. I want to flee! Fast. Where?

  • Denial
  • Fear
  • Shame
  • Resentment
  • Blame
  • Busyness
  • Ambition
  • Disappointment
  • Impatience
  • Control
  • People pleasing
  • Glitter and gold, shiny things and rubber chickens
  • Distraction
  • Numbness
  • Laziness
  • {Fill in the blanks}

Call it whatever you want, it’s just a fancy repackaging of unbelief. When life is hard I will flee to the many ways I dress up my unbelief that Jesus has abandoned me. He has left me alone to figure it out. This branch just climbs down off the vine and says, “Well then, I’ll do it myself.”

I will not leave you as orphans; I am coming to you” (Jn. 14:18), Jesus says. Over and over he tells me “Stay. I will not abandon you. I will not let you down. When others flee, I will remain. You can count on me. It may feel like you are clinging on {for dear life} to me, but that is only a small measure of how tightly I am already holding you. So just stay. Remember my words and keep talking to me (Jn 15:7). Together we will flourish through this. I in you. You in me. We will hold onto each other. Depend on me.”

Self flees. Abiding enters. I remain where Christ is already at…being who he has always been. Wonderful Counselor. Mighty God. Everlasting Father. Prince of Peace. The Abiding God.

One thought on “Abiding {Remaining Where Christ is Already At}

  1. Pingback: Abiding {Dwelling Where Jesus Dwells} | Once Upon a Truth

Leave a Reply

