The Joy of Hidden Treasure {#LentChallenge}

“The kingdom of heaven is like a treasure hidden in a field, which someone found and hid; then in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field” Matthew 13:44.

Not once, but twice yesterday this verse fell from heaven into conversations pregnant with Spirit’s presence. It would be weird that the verse should again appear in the #LentChallenge reading, except for that in God’s kingdom weird is the new normal. 

It’s easy at glance to see the cost associated with this treasure. The eager spelunker sells everything he has to buy the field because he sees the value of the hidden and the pricelessness of that which others missed. What he may gain far outweighs what it will cost him to get it.

I see him in contrast to the Young Proud Ruler who can’t release anything in order to gain what can’t be lost. He’s so obsessed with potential loss that he can’t see the promised gain.  Even though he already has much, facing the pain of loss and of appearing foolish has made him hoard the past and present at the expense of the future.

The parable tells us something insightful about the true kingdom-finder: “in his joy he goes and sells all that he has.” He’s not wallowing in the sorrow or regret of what he has lost. Rather, motivated by exceeding gladness, he embraces his commitment to the treasure.

This begs me to ask: What do I really treasure? Am I obsessed with the cost or have I been so delighted by the treasure of Jesus that from his joy I sell everything else I think I need?

I have found following Jesus to be costly. Nothing so costly as His finding and purchasing of me. Some find me weird. Others find me foolish. I am praying today that Jesus will find me joyful and joyfully finding Him.

3 thoughts on “The Joy of Hidden Treasure {#LentChallenge}

Leave a Reply

