Beloved of Love {#LentChallenge}

“For all of them have contributed out of their abundance; but she out of her poverty has put in everything she had, all all she had to live on” Mark 12:44.

Abundance. Beyond it being a fun word to say, it’s an easy way to live. It is to have too much, to overflow, to have much remaining; leftovers.

In contrast, scarcity immediately discomforts. It is to be lacking, meager, vulnerable to the demands; to be left in need.

The idea of not having enough is a human obsession. We gather, stockpile, and hoard. Safety and security is acquired by tallies and columns of talents, skills, and assets. Strength is measured in numbers.

Sometimes I look for God’s blessings in the numbers. If I have much, he is pleased. If I am able to give more, do more, and be better, God is greatly pleased: I am blessed. I believe these lies often.

The truth is that God is not looking for more or better; he desires all, everything.

I’m scared to trust God this way. I’m afraid to give from the places I feel are lacking, weak, insignificant. I hold back in my left-in-need places. I ration them; try to make them last until there is more.

Poor widow. The name personifies vulnerability. Poor. Having not enough. Widow. Abandoned and alone. To be without protection, resource, and love.

To others, Poor Widow is unseen, unheard, and unloved. To Jesus she is  beautiful, of great worth, and exceedingly treasured. Beloved of Love.

Maybe Jesus points out this beloved woman to his disciples because he sees in her the beautiful image of himself. He gives everything–everything–for love…from love.

Poor widow, teach me what it means to keep trusting God. Show me the beauty of having so little that I can be free to give him everything, even if it is just two token coins representing my unrelenting need of his presence and power in my life. May I learn from you the strength of being poor to all else, so as to be rich from God’s love. Yes, I too want to be the Beloved of Love.

I’m joining Margaret for the #LentChallenge of reading the New Testament in forty days. Today’s reading is Mark 12-16. Join us!

One thought on “Beloved of Love {#LentChallenge}

Leave a Reply

